RSS

But…how are we supposed to vote

12 Mar
A polling station sign in the Jersey general e...

Image via Wikipedia

New Hampshire House Republicans are pushing for new laws that would prohibit students from voting in the state under certain circumstances. Two laws are being considered, one that would permit students to vote in their college town only if they or their parents had previously established permanent residency there. The other would eliminate Election Day registration under the guise that would stop the swarm of students on polling places which supposedly creates opportunity for fraud.

Here’s the thing, the one side sees these bills come through with seemingly legitimate reasons to support them. But when the Speaker, William O’Brien, states in a speech to a local Tea Party group that he thinks college students are “foolish,” “voting as liberal, that’s what kids do,” that they lack “life experience,” and “they just vote their feelings.” That’s when I start to wonder exactly what the purpose is behind these proposed laws.

So, Mr. O’Brien, how are you suggesting we vote. I know how I vote, by my feelings, shouldn’t that be how everyone votes. Oh, I’m sorry, I forgot, you vote based on how much money you’re campaign contributors gave to you. Well I don’t have campaign contributions to cloud my judgement, I just have my feelings. I know how I think this country should be run and that’s how I vote and how I will vote. Just because a group of people don’t vote the way you do doesn’t give you the right to take away their voting rights. I’m sure you wish you could have cut all college students off, since they’re so foolish and all. But you probably didn’t think you could get away with that just yet. Gotta start somewhere.

It may just be coincidence that he said these things then these bills came into the House but sure does seem pretty convenient.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on March 12, 2011 in Political Crap

 

One response to “But…how are we supposed to vote

  1. Casey

    March 12, 2011 at 11:13 PM

    I’m starting to think I should just go cold turkey – no news, no phone, no internet…I need a good, heart felt story to lift my awful news blues. I don’t know, maybe I’m just some dumb mis-informed student with illegitimate, stupid ideas who only has feelings, but I’m tired of all the bs that transpires every time I look at the news…just plain heartbreaking.

     

Leave a Reply

 
